Speak Up for Life: Pro-Life Legislators Need to Hear From You

On April 1, 2015, Tennessee's state House will take the next step toward restoring common-sense policies on abortion and will take up measures providing informed consent and a 48-hour waiting period before an abortion may be performed as well as a requirement that abortion facilities be inspected and licensed as other out-patient surgical centers.

HB 977 (informed consent/waiting period) and HB 1368 (abortion facility regulation) will be heard by the House Health Committee chaired by state Representative Cameron Sexton (R-Crossville.)

Click here to immediately contact the members of the committee and urge their strong support for HB 977 by Rep. Matthew Hill  and Rep. Debra Moody and HB 1368 by Rep. Susan Lynn. (Please see list of members of the committee below.)

If you are unable to email, make some phone calls!  (The members' phone numbers are listed below.) If your representative is on the House Health Committee, please give him/her a call. Pro-abortion members of the committee will be challenging the bills as Rep. Clemmons did at the subcommittee hearing on Tuesday.  Your emails and phone calls in support of the bills are critically important to the pro-life members of the committee.  Click here to view video of Tuesday's hearing (the first bill HB977 begins at 52:39 of the video).

Supporters are encouraged to attend the meeting of the committee, Wednesday, April 1, 1:30 p.m. (CDT) in House Hearing Room 16, Legislative Plaza. For more information, please email [email protected] or call Tennessee Right to Life (615)298-LIFE.

Thank you for encouraging our state legislators to stand for life and protect Tennessee's women, girls and unborn children. 




Representative Cameron Sexton, Chairman (R-Crossville) - [email protected], 615.741.2343

Representative Barry Doss, Vice-Chairman (R-Leoma) - [email protected], 615.741.7476

Representative John Ray Clemmons (D-Nashville) - [email protected], 615.741.4410

Representative John J. DeBerry, Jr. (D-Memphis) -[email protected], 615.741.2239

Representative Jeremy Faison (R-Cosby) - [email protected], 615.741.6871

Representative JoAnne Favors (D-Chattanooga) - [email protected], 615.741.2702

Representative Mike Harrison (R-Rogersville) - [email protected], 615.741.7480

Representative Matthew Hill (R-Jonesborough) - [email protected]

Representative John B. Holsclaw, Jr. (R-Elizabethton) - [email protected], 615.741.7450

Representative Darren Jernigan (D-Old Hickory) - [email protected], 615.741.6959

Representative Sherry Jones (D-Nashville) - [email protected], 615.741.2035

Representative Sabi 'Doc' Kumar, MD (R-Springfield) - [email protected], 615.741.2860

Representative Mary Littleton (R-Dickson) - [email protected], 615.741.7477

Representative Judd Matheny (R-Tullahoma) - [email protected], 615.741.7448

Representative Bob Ramsey, DDS (R-Maryville) - [email protected], 615.741.3560

Representative Bryan Terry, MD (R-Murfreesboro) - [email protected], 615.741.2180

Representative Leigh Wilburn (R-Somerville) -[email protected], 615.741.6890

Representative Ryan Williams (R-Cookeville) -[email protected], 615.741.1875