Tennessee House Passes Pro-Life Abortion Pill Reversal Act

Senate Judiciary Committee Scheduled to Hear Bill Today

Urgent: Please Contact Senate Judiciary Committee Members Today

Tennessee Right to Life applauds the Tennessee House of Representatives for passing the Abortion Pill Reversal Act, HB 2568. House Bill 2568 sponsored by Rep. Jeremy Faison (R-Cosby) would require abortion facilities to display signage informing women that a chemical abortion may be reversed following the first dose of a two-pill protocol and requires a physician to provide the same information during informed consent, 48 hours prior to the abortion procedure.

On Monday evening, the House overwhelmingly passed the legislation by a vote of 71-22-1. Thank you to Representatives Robin Smith (R-Hixson) and Debra Moody (R-Covington) for leading the effort to defeat pro-abortion amendments offered by two Democrat legislators.

Before the legislation can become law, the Senate must take action. Senate Bill 2465 sponsored by Senator Dolores Gresham (R-Somerville) is on the Senate Judiciary Committee calendar for today, June 2. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 3:00 pm CDT.

Please Contact Senate Judiciary Committee Members Today

Please thank the following Representatives voting Pro-life and for the bill: Baum (R-Murfreesboro), Boyd (R-Lebanon), Bricken (R-Tullahoma), Byrd (R-Waynesboro), Calfee (R-Kingston), Carr (R-Sevierville), Carter (R-Ooltewah), Casada (R-Franklin), Cepicky (R-Culleoka), Cochran (R-Englewood), Crawford (R-Kingsport), Curcio (R-Dickson), Daniel (R-Knoxville), DeBerry (D-Memphis), Doggett (R-Pulaski), Dunn (R-Knoxville), Eldridge (R-Morristown), Faison (R-Cosby), Farmer (R-Sevierville), Gant (R-Rossville), Garrett (R-Goodlettsville), Griffey (R-Paris), Halford (R-Dyer), Hall (R-Cleveland), Haston (R-Lobelville), Hawk (R-Greeneville), Helton (R-East Ridge), Hicks (R-Rogersville), Hill M (R-Jonesborough), Hill T (R-Blountville), Holsclaw (R-Elizabethton), Howell (R-Georgetown), Hulsey (R-Kingsport), Hurt (R-Halls), Johnson C (R-Clarksville), Keisling (R-Byrdstown), Kumar (R-Springfield), Lafferty (R-Knoxville), Lamberth (R-Portland), Leatherwood (R-Arlington), Littleton (R-Dickson), Lynn (R-Mt. Juliet), Marsh (R-Shelbyville), Moody (R-Covington), Moon (R-Maryville), Ogles (R-Franklin), Powers (R-Jacksboro), Ragan (R-Oak Ridge), Ramsey (R-Maryville), Reedy (R-Erin), Rudd (R-Murfreesboro), Rudder (R-Winchester), Russell (R-Vonore), Sexton J (R-Bean Station), Sherrell (R-Sparta), Smith (R-Hixson), Sparks (R-Smyrna), Terry (R-Murfreesboro), Tillis (R-Lewisburg), Todd (R-Jackson), Van Huss (R-Jonesborough), Vaughan (R-Collierville), Weaver (R-Lancaster), White (R-Memphis), Whitson (R-Franklin), Williams (R-Cookeville), Windle (D-Livingston), Wright (R-Corryton), Zachary (R-Knoxville), Mr. Speaker Sexton C (R-Crossville)-- 71.

The following Representatives voted pro-abortion and against the bill: Beck (D-Nashville), Camper (D-Memphis), Chism (D-Memphis), Clemmons (D-Nashville), Dixie (D-Nashville), Freeman (D-Nashville), Hakeem (D-Chattanooga), Hardaway (D-Memphis), Hodges (D-Clarksville), Jernigan (D-Nashville), Johnson G (D-Knoxville), Lamar (D-Memphis), Love (D-Nashville), Miller (D-Memphis), Mitchell (D-Nashville), Potts (D-Nashville), Powell (D-Nashville), Shaw (D-Bolivar), Staples (D-Knoxville), Stewart (D-Nashville), Thompson (D-Cordova), Towns (D-Memphis) -- 22.

The following Representative is recorded as Present Not Voting: Hazelwood (R-Signal Mountain) - 1.

Women have undergone the progesterone reversal process, carried their babies to term and delivered healthy babies. To date more than 900 babies and women have been saved by the Abortion Pill Reversal protocol.
Currently, there are over 800 medical professionals, including several in Tennessee, trained to administer the Abortion Pill Reversal protocol. Visit Abortion Pill Rescue for more information about the process.