Tennessee House Joins Senate, Passes Human Life Protection Act

Bans Abortion When Roe v. Wade is Overturned

Tennessee Right to Life applauds final passage of the Human Life Protection Act which will take effect upon the reversal of Roe v Wade, in whole or in part, by the U.S. Supreme Court. It will enact the full restoration of Tennessee's protective pre-Roe laws. The act restores the right of Tennesseans to decide these public policies on abortion for ourselves.

"It has always been the priority of Tennessee's pro-life movement to restore the fullest possible protection to the largest number of unborn children and women in our state," said Brian Harris, president of Tennessee Right to Life. "While states like New York are moving to strip any limits to abortion--even at the moments before birth---Tennessee wants to be known for protecting our children."

As states like New York seek to prepare for the possible overturn of Roe v. Wade, pro-life Tennesseans are working to ensure that our state is among the most protective for abortion vulnerable women, girls, and unborn children.

On Monday evening, the Senate overwhelmingly passed the legislation by a vote of 26 - 5. After passing the Senate, the House overwhelmingly approved the legislation 69 - 24. The Act now heads to Governor Bill Lee's desk for his signature.

Prime sponsors of the measure were Senator Dolores Gresham (R-Somerville) and Representative Susan Lynn (R-Mount Juliet.) "This pro-life bill was passed overwhelmingly in large part due to the vigilant care with which sponsors Gresham and Lynn shepherded the measure. Tennessee Right to Life expresses our appreciation for their work and wisdom," said Trecia Dillingham, board member for the organization. "We look forward to continuing to work with the Legislature to restore full protection to the vulnerable unborn in our state," said Dillingham.

The legislators voting in support of Pro-life SB 1257/HB 1029 include the following:

Senators: Bailey (R), Bell (R), Briggs (R), Crowe (R), Gardenhire (R), Gresham (R), Haile (R), Hensley (R), Jackson (R), Johnson (R), Kelsey (R), Kurita (I), Lundberg (R), Massey (R), Lt. Gov. McNally (R), Niceley (R), Pody (R), Reeves (R), Roberts (R), Rose (R), Southerland (R), Stevens (R), Swann (R), Watson (R), White (R), Yager (R).

Representatives: Baum (R), Boyd (R), Bricken (R), Byrd (R), Calfee (R), Carr (R), Carter (R), Cepicky (R), Cochran (R), Crawford (R), Curcio (R), DeBerry (D), Doggett (R), Dunn (R), Eldridge (R), Faison (R), Farmer (R), Gant (R), Garrett (R), Griffey (R), Halford (R), Hall (R), Haston (R), Hawk (R), Helton (R), Hicks (R), Hill M (R), Hill T (R), Holsclaw (R), Holt (R), Howell (R), Hulsey (R), Johnson C (R), Keisling (R), Kumar (R), Lafferty (R), Lamberth (R), Leatherwood (R), Littleton (R), Lynn (R), Marsh (R), Moon (R), Ogles (R), Powers (R), Ragan (R), Ramsey (R), Reedy (R), Rudd (R), Rudder (R), Russell (R), Sanderson (R), Sexton J (R), Sherrell (R), Smith (R), Sparks (R), Terry (R), Tillis (R), Todd (R), Travis (R), Van Huss (R), Vaughan (R), Weaver (R), White (R), Whitson (R), Williams (R), Windle (D), Wright (R), Zachary (R), Mr. Speaker Casada (R).

For more background, please click here.